Welcome Anonymous, It is currently Wed Apr 01, 2020 1:37 am

ICC Women’s World Cup schedule

Women's Cricket Forum

ICC Women’s World Cup schedule

Postby BallOil » Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:18 am

Cuttack joins Mumbai as ICC Women’s World Cup venue

The International Cricket Council today announced that the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 will be staged in two India cities - with Mumbai still hosting the majority of games and some group and Super Six Stage matches being relocated to the Odisha city of Cuttack.

On the announcement of the full schedule of matches today, ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “I am grateful for all the support ICC has received from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) during a difficult situation, which was not of cricket’s making. We are also indebted to the Odisha Cricket Association for making excellent grounds available at such short notice.

“We also wish to thank the competing teams and Member Boards for their co-operation in allowing both the ICC and BCCI the opportunity to explore the complicated logistics so that we can ensure that this event takes place on the dates scheduled in India.”

Pakistan’s matches will be held at the Barabati Stadium, Cuttack. The final remains scheduled for the Brabourne Stadium, the home of the Cricket Club of India (CCI) in Mumbai on 17 February.

Notes to Editors:

The twitter hashtag for the tournament is #wwc13 and you can also find updates on http://www.facebook.com/cricketicc" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;.

· The Women’s World Cup has been running for longer than the men’s version and was first staged in England in 1973, when it was won by the hosts, which beat Australia by 118 runs in the final at Edgbaston, Birmingham.

· Since then there have been a further eight tournaments with Australia winning five of them (1978, 1982, 1988, 1997 and 2005), England winning twice (1993 and 2009) and New Zealand (2000) triumphing once.

· The tournament has been staged twice each in England (1973 and 1993), India (1978 and 1997) , New Zealand (1982 and 2000) and Australia (1988 and 2009) as well as South Africa (2005).

· The tournament has grown in stature after International Women’s Cricket Council merged with International Cricket Council (ICC) in 2005. It was staged under the aegis of the ICC for the first time in 2009.

Tournament schedule
Group A – England (A1), India (A2), West Indies (A3), Sri Lanka (A4)
Group B – Australia (B1), New Zealand (B2), Pakistan (B3), South Africa (B4)

Warm-up matches (to start at 0900 India time)

28 Jan – England v SA, CCI; India v New Zealand, BKC; West Indies v Australia, MIG; New Local XI v Sri Lanka, Mumbai Police Gymkhana. Pakistan v Local XI, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

29 Jan – India v Australia, CCI; West Indies v Local XI, Mumbai Police Gymkhana; England v New Zealand, BKC; Sri Lanka v South Africa, MIG

30 Jan – Pakistan v Local XI, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

Tournament schedule (All day matches begin at 0900 while day/night fixtures start at 1430 India time; All matches at CCI will be broadcast in HD by the ICC Broadcast Partner - Star Sports)

31 Jan – India v West Indies (D/N), CCI

1 Feb – England v Sri Lanka, CCI; New Zealand v South Africa, Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack; Australia v Pakistan, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

3 Feb – India v England, CCI; Sri Lanka v West Indies, MIG; New Zealand v Pakistan, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack; Australia v South Africa, Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack

5 Feb – India v Sri Lanka, (D/N) CCI; England v West Indies, BKC; Pakistan v South Africa, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack; Australia v New Zealand, Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack

Super Six Stage

Provided they qualify, each of the top three teams will retain its ranking from the group stage through to the Super Sixes, regardless of their finishing position in the group. For example, England will be ranked A1 whether they finish first, second or third at the end of the group stage. If the fourth ranked team in a group qualifies for the Super Six stage, they will adopt the ranking of the team that they have replaced. For example if Sri Lanka qualifies at the expense of England, Sri Lanka would follow the fixtures for A1 in the Super Six stage.

7 Feb –A4 v B4 (7th v 8th Play Off), Driems Cricket Ground, Cuttack*

8 Feb - A1 v B1, CCI; A2 v B2, BKC; A3 v B3, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

10 Feb - A2 v B1, CCI; A1 v B3, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

11 Feb – A3 v B2, CCI

13 Feb – A1 v B2 (D/N), CCI; A3 v B1, MIG; A2 v B3, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

15 Feb – 5th v 6th Play Off, Barabati Stadium, Cuttack; 3rd v 4th Play Off, CCI

17 Feb – Final (D/N), CCI

D/N = Day/night fixture
CCI = Cricket Club of India
MIG = Middle Income Group Ground
BKC = Bandra Kulra Complex
Barabati Stadium in Cuttack
Driems Cricket Ground in Cuttack
* If Pakistan features in this match then it will relocate to Barabati Stadium
User avatar
Posts: 19398
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:12 pm

Re: ICC Women’s World Cup schedule

Postby DMan » Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:25 am

What is the team rankings for the Women cricket teams? Is the Women in 7th spot in tests and ODI's similar to the Men's team?
Posts: 4117
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2011 11:02 am

Return to Women's Cricket

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
Most users ever online was 508 on Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:31 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


The team
Delete all board cookies
• All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
RocketTheme Joomla Templates